Trying to teach stats...

Hi, I am a mathematician with several years teaching experience who has recently been drafted into teaching statistics. Needless to say, a statistician would certainly do a better job, but we don't have one, so it has fallen to me. I am trying to do my best, but I have all sorts of questions I can't find answers to in books. So I am hoping there may be some patient statisticians willing to help me out. I am about to put up a few posts with some of my questions. I will be grateful for any help!

Hi and welcome,

I am a statistician and teach medical statistics, but I will be interested to see your posts, and the responses, as there are always better ways to explain things in a non-technical manner :)

Thanks! I am interested to hear what you cover in your module, since the next module I have been asked to put together is medical statistics. My father is a physician, and has for years been involved in several large multi-site clinical trials, primarily as the
medical statistician for them. I have tried to ask him about what to include, and mostly what I have found out is that medical statistics, as it is really currently done, is very high powered and complicated and far beyond an undergraduate module. So I am feeling a bit daunted. I figure survival analysis is certainly one topic. Not sure about the rest.

Ah now I teach it as an undergraduate module to medical students, so very happy to chat with you about the basics of what we include. It is a 12 weeks module, maybe we can chat about the different topics I cover and you are welcome to use ideas. Survival analysis can be quite an advanced topic, depending on who you are teaching! Happy to have that conversation sometime with you :)

That would be great. Is there a way to have a private conversation on this site? It looks like it, but I am new to all this.
Also, hopeless with computers. Thank god i haven't been given a CS module to teach :)

Dason

Ambassador to the humans