Undergrad Research Ideas

I'm an undergrad studying Linguistics and Computer Science, and I'm hoping to do some stats-related research this quarter.

The problem is, my stats knowledge is very limited. I've only taken AP Stats (way back in high school) and I just finished an upper-division Intro to Probability Theory course. I find the subject really interesting though and would like to find a way to apply what I've learned.

I was thinking of doing something with WordNet, or some other language-related data set, but I'm not sure what research questions would be feasible given my background. Any ideas? Or is it not possible to complete a good, thorough, and interesting research project with so little stats experience?

Thank you in advance.

bryangoodrich

Probably A Mammal