Urgently need help with data analysis

Hey folks,

i really am desperate for help with this, since I have to present my results at a conference in less than two weeks. I am a statistics-noob undergraduate psychoglogy-student, so please go easy on me.

Research and Variables

I want to examine the correlative relationship between a personality trait (PT) and spatial memory (SM). My hypothesis is, that there is a relevant, positive correlation between these two. However, here are all the important variables:

• Spatial Memory (SM): The outcome, scaled measure
  • Personality Trait (PT): The predictor, scaled measure
  • Intelligence (IQ): As a possible covariate, scaled measure
  • Subjects Age (AGE): As a possible covariate, scaled measure
  • PC-Skills (PC): As a possible covariate, scaled measure
  • Several other variables, also possible covariates, won't list them all here

Sample & Data-analysis so far

Unfortunately my sample-size is very limited (N = 26), which causes a lot of problems. This is due to the special nature of my population and there's nothing I can do about it now, except for making the best of it.

I cannot make any assumptions about normal distribution in the population, since my data is not sufficient. So let's say there's no normal distribution. However, I will be using some methods that require normally distributed data, like the pearson correlation anyway, since I've been told that the issue can be ignored. If I'm completely wrong about this, let me know.

Correlations with the outcome:
  • r (PT, SM) ~ .49*
  • r (IQ, SM) ~ -.40*
  • r (AGE, SM) ~ .70**
  • r (PC, SM) ~ -.21 (not significant)
  • the other correlations were not significant either, so that's why I didn't list them

Now to my problem(s):