What books could you read to get a Statistics major?

I studied Philosophy and Math in college, and now that I'm out, I'm still interested in learning a few things, one of which is Stats. I've read a few books on intro Stats, including Tanis and Hogg's Mathematical Statistics, which I feel I've understood well. However, when I go to read other Statistics texts I feel like they don't make a lot of sense to me, and I wonder what it is that I'm missing. Rather than asking, how do I fill in these gaps, I think maybe a more complete and useful question is: What books could I read that would give me the equivalent of an undergraduate degree in Statistics? I know you won't get exactly as good a grasp of Statistics without taking classes at college, but just play along. What subjects should one know, in what order should they be learned, and what are the best books to learn those subjects?

hlsmith

Less is more. Stay pure. Stay poor.
A possible option is doing a search on good programs and seeing which courses they require and their electives. Then attempt to procure those syllabi (either online or emailing the professors).

Another very relevant question would be, what areas of statistics are you interested in? It is a very broad field. Most programs have maybe 6 core course and allow students to then fill in hours based on electives and their interests.