What is pain?

I am a dental student writing on what we here (Sweden) call a "D-essay" it is a part of our exam and supposed to be practice in/an introduction to research and using scientific methods. We have gotten a couple of lectures on statistics, but not enough.

I am writing about reduction in pain from a certain treatment. I have studied medical records. It is not an active study with a control group and the works. Just looking backwards in the charts for a period of 1 year from one surgeons treatments. It is a very small sample size. Only 24 patients, each treated between 1-3 times.

I get confused on how to treat the data. In some forums and literature the numerical pain scale (NPS) i said to be qualitative and ordinal. In other places it is said that the NPS should be considered a ratio scale.

In an article by Farrar et al it says this: "In addition, long standing clinical experience and experimental evidence suggest that patients tend to describe their pain as a percentage change throughout most of the scale, i.e. a change from 9/10 to 6/10 (absolute change 3, percentage change 33%) is likely to be equivalent to, rather than more than, the change from 6/10 to 4/10 (absolute change 2, percentage change 33%). Price et al. (1983) have recommended that the pain scale be used as a ratio scale."

In other places it says the opposite. In an article by Tae Kyun Kim (Practical statistics in pain research) is says:
"For the NRS, it is obvious that it is ordinal scale. It means that nonparametric statistics should be applied for the NRS scale. When it come to the VAS score, however, there is something to be discussed about the scale and statistical methods."

Can I just "ignore" the type of scale it may or may not be and just use nonparametric statistics and thus be "on the safe side"?