What is the history of regression analysis?

ygao

Hi all,

Recently, I am using regression analysis to do a geophysics study. Now the study is almost done. I start to write my report. I want to add some history of the regression technique itself. But I am far from an expert of statistics. So I have no idea about what I should write.

Therefore, I want to ask whether anyone can recommend me some articles about the history of regression analysis. How it is invented... How it is developed in history... What is the current topic about this technique... etc...

Or if you have suggestions on how I should finish the regression part of my report, it is highly appreciated.

Thx in advance,
yg

I wouldn't write about the history of regression... That would seem (to me) irrelevant in almost any work you could imagine (except papers on pure statistics or econometrics). Instead I would recommend you, if you absolutely want to write something about the technique, that you derive the model, meaning that you solve the problem: minimize sum of squared errors. Then calculate derivates with respect to alpha and beta, and solve the model. Maybe do the same, but with matrices, which is much more handy for multiple linear regression analysis. But history is irrelevant I think...

TheEcologist

Global Moderator
Hi all,

Recently, I am using regression analysis to do a geophysics study. Now the study is almost done. I start to write my report. I want to add some history of the regression technique itself. But I am far from an expert of statistics. So I have no idea about what I should write.

Therefore, I want to ask whether anyone can recommend me some articles about the history of regression analysis. How it is invented... How it is developed in history... What is the current topic about this technique... etc...

Or if you have suggestions on how I should finish the regression part of my report, it is highly appreciated.

Thx in advance,
yg