What statistical analysis to use for a ordinal scale questionnaire?

Dear Experts,

Im a noob when it comes to statistics. So please pardon my lack of knowledge in this post.

I need to do a statistical analysis on a set of questionnaires. There are 3 sets of questionnaires for 3 different populations (Human Resource Reps, Managers, Employees). My hypothesis is "An ERP implementation helped to increase work quality, efficiency, productivity and accountability across HR business processes in an organisation." Dependent Variables being - work quality, efficiency, productivity and accountability. I have a set of questions in each questionnaire which attributes to each of these variables. I'm using a 5 point ordinal scale for measuring response.

What statistical analysis could I use for proving my hypothesis right or otherwise? I came across chi-squared test but there is no link between two variables in my case..or so I think :confused:

I also read up about factor analysis and conjoint analysis, but could not seem to fit my data there..or maybe I'm wrong.

Would you please guide me? Thanks a ton!

- Nisha

Karabiner

TS Contributor
If you want to compare the groups with respect to how
they responded on the ordinal scale(s), then you can
perform Kruskal-Wallis H-tests or Mann-Whitney U-tests
with "poulation" as grouping variable. If you want
to analyse whether the responses to certain questions
are correlated with each other, then you can use the
Spearman rank correlation coefficient rho.

With kind regards

K.

Dear Karabiner

I do not want to compare the three groups (Managers, HR Reps, Employees), neither do I want to analyse correlation between responses.

I'm using questions associated with each variable in my questionnaires-
Variables: Work Quality, Efficiency, Productivity, Accountability

Questions (examples):

1. How easier is it to analyse the data in the ERP system for decision making?
1. Far more easier compared to before
2. It helps to an extent