What test should i use? THESIS HELP!!

Hi,

I am currently studying Zoology at university. I am currently in my final year conducting my dissertation. I have completed my data collection and I am now on to my statistics.
My dissertation looks at the relationship between light intensity and growth rate in marine sponges. I have 5 species of sponges and this was conducted over 7 weeks. I have 3 replicates of each species and once a week the area of the sponge was calculated. There were two light intensities; Light and Ambient. I was thinking is a 2-way ANOVA acceptable or should another test be used? I want to see if there is a significant difference between both light intensities, between species within the same intensity and between species within the different intensities

I hope that makes sense!

thankyou!

A two-way repeated measures ANOVA should be appropriate for this problem, but I would also check to make sure the assumptions of ANOVA are met. To save time, I pulled them from a website.

1. The populations from which the samples were obtained must be normally or approximately normally distributed.
  2. The samples must be independent.
  3. The variances of the populations must be equal.
  4. The groups must have the same sample size.

A two-way repeated measures ANOVA should be appropriate for this problem, but I would also check to make sure the assumptions of ANOVA are met. To save time, I pulled them from a website.

1. The populations from which the samples were obtained must be normally or approximately normally distributed.
  2. The samples must be independent.
  3. The variances of the populations must be equal.
  4. The groups must have the same sample size.
Yes it meets all the assumptions apart from being normally distributed...so a kruskall-wallis would be best?
thanks