What test should I use?

Hi All,
I’m an SPSS statistics novice and I was hoping for some help on a question which is;

Are people more likely to help strangers who ask for a cigarette than those who ask for money?
Both are ordinal variables with both labels being;
Definitely not
Probably not
Possibly yes
Definitely yes
I’m guessing it would be a non parametric test either Chi, Mann-Whitney, Wilcoxon, Kruskal-Wallis? Or maybe I’m completely wrong. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

obh

Hi Chan,

Since it is an ordinal variable you should use the non-parametric test.
You can use Mann-Whitney (one group will be a constant)
Paired Wilcoxon is for a dependent test like paired -t (no this case)
Kruskal Walis is a generalization of the Mann-Whitney, when using two groups it is the same test.
For the Chi-squared test, you need to have an expected model, for example, the expected model may be the following model:
50% Definitely not or Probably not and 50% Possibly yes or Definitely yes.
But in this case, you will lose some knowledge as you merge the two "no" groups and two "yes" groups.

Last edited:

Karabiner

TS Contributor
How did your study design look like? Did you ask each participant 2 questions? Or did you asknthe cigarette question in one group, and the money question in another group?

With kind regards

Karabiner

obh

I assumed it is one question:
Are people more likely to help strangers who ask for a cigarette than those who ask for money?

How did your study design look like? Did you ask each participant 2 questions? Or did you asknthe cigarette question in one group, and the money question in another group?

With kind regards

Karabiner[/QUOTE
Hi there, each participant was asked the two separate questions and was wanting to compare who would be more likely to help one group from the other. Wilcoxon maybe? Thanks for your reply

Karabiner

TS Contributor
The Wilcoxon signed rank test requires interval scaled variables, yours are ordinal.