Why are so few questions being answered?

I am a software developer, currently in graduate school for general mathematics, who intends a career in statistical programming. I have begun taking on small statistical programming projects and I have questions that could benefit from the advice of the many of you who have good experience.

While lurking in Talk Stats I am often delighted to find clever questions posed, and I look forward eagerly to see what answers are given, but unfortunately many questions asked here go unanswered. Why is that?

Are the questions too hard? Are they stated poorly? Most of what I see seems to be well stated and not too advanced, yet few responses are forthcoming. Are the answers too obvious?

Some technical questions like, "How do I do such-and-such in SAS?" do get answered, but questions about mathematical statistics or general applied methods seem ignored.

Those of you who are "regulars," please give your suggestions on what we newbie members can contribute to Talk Stats to invigorate discussion. Thank you.

Super Moderator
I am less familar with the mathmatical side of things. Generally, I will reply on questions realting to statistical test chice or study design and others related to biological applied stats. I tend to leave PDF questions and equation based questions alone.
Learn to Google first

My issue is that there are posts where the author has clearly made no attempt to find the solution first (even though we have that sticky note at the top of the threads). I'm a Google hound so I know that there's a lot out there that would clearly answer many posters questions, yet they do not indicate that they've done any work on their end before they make the post.
Hi Sara,

My experience and interest is in helping researchers analyze their data. So I guess I do have criteria about kinds of questions to answer.