Binary Logistic Regression with categorical predictors and interactions.

I'm new to logistic regression and the project I'm working on requires a model that involves two predictors:

• Experimental condition (categorical variable with 8 categories)
  • Score on a measure (continuous variable)

So, one categorical predictor and one continuous predictor. But, these two things should interact! So, we get:

• Experimental condition
  • Score
  • Experimental condition * score

I have one dependent variable that is binary.

When I run my analysis in SPSS I get a Variables in the Equation table that has a lot of information and I'm not sure which information is important. I seem to be getting a B-value for every experimental condition, but no B-value for experimental conditions overall. I'm also getting a B-value for every interaction between the scores and the experimental conditions, but no overall B-value for that interaction.

In other words, I'm not sure what B-values to report when I write up my results.

I was using Andy Field's book Discovering Statistics using SPSS for Windows to walk through logistic regression, but he doesn't explain how to interpret a situation like this.

Sorry if my question seems silly, I am new to this procedure and was not formally educated on how to use it!

Any help would be appreciated! :D

Last edited:
I only know logistic regression in SAS so these suggestions might not help. SAS has a type III analysis of effects which is essentially a test of the categorical variable as a whole (which implictly test that at least one level of the categorical variable is different from another - like a F test in ANOVA). You should look to see if SPSS has this in its own table (it will probably have a variable named exactly what your categorical variable is named).