Disagreement among statisticans

noetsi

No cake for spunky
Probably should put "statistian" in quotes here because most of these people use statistics I would guess but have terminal degrees in fields other than statistics.

I suspect Jake and Dason will say I should test these differences myself (although given that experts disagree commonly and presumably do this already I am not optimistic about this approach given that I am no expert). :p

This is a link that reflects, by poster's who's expertise I have no way to access, the differences I often find in text or discussions of statistics on topics. Some say Kruskal Wallis is testing 1) medians 2) means 3) distribution (if ranks are the same effectively).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:Kruskal–Wallis_one-way_analysis_of_variance

I have found similar disagreements among academic sites on this topic. :)

Last edited:

noetsi

No cake for spunky
Perhaps this goes to the real point [having said that I am uncertain the authors I have read or this references would agree with the following].

There is considerable confusion in the literature over this matter. Some authors state unambiguously that there are no distributional assumptions, others that the homogeneity of variances assumption applies just as for parametric ANOVA. The confusion results from how you interpret a significant result. If you wish to compare medians or means, then the Kruskal-Wallis test also assumes that observations in each group are identically and independently distributed apart from location. If you can accept inference in terms of dominance of one distribution over another, then there are indeed no distributional assumptions.
http://influentialpoints.com/Training/Kruskal-Wallis_ANOVA_use_and_misuse.htm