Effect size of ANOVA

The ANOVA test I run shows significance as .045, can I use this p-value to reject the null hypothesis of there is no difference among 3 groups?
Can I just use this p-value as the effect size of this ANOVA?
I'm totally new in stats, I'm sorry if it's a silly question.

Karabiner

TS Contributor
This is used to reject the null hypothesis, correct.

It is not an "effcts size". It is a statement about how probable the sample data (or more extrenne sample data) are,
if the null hypothesis is true.

Apart from that, it is of very limited use to try to calculate effect size measures in sample data, since effect sizes refer
to populations, not to samples.

With kind regards

Karabiner

This is used to reject the null hypothesis, correct.

It is not an "effcts size". It is a statement about how probable the sample data (or more extrenne sample data) are,
if the null hypothesis is true.

Apart from that, it is of very limited use to try to calculate effect size measures in sample data, since effect sizes refer
to populations, not to samples.

With kind regards

Karabiner
Thank you so much for your reply Karabiner. So when I report the result of the ANOVA I run, I can just use the p-value (which is <.05 in my research) to state that it is significant that there is differences among the 3 groups that I tested? But I thought the point of testing sample is to predict the population, so if I don't address the effect size, how can I explain the meaning of the sample? sorry if it's a silly question again, I'm just really confused.
And I also attached the ANOVA result in where I tested the generation difference as the independent variable and non-Mandarin dialect proficiency as the dependent variable. Is it possible that you can kindly look it up? but it's also understandable if it's too much to ask.

Thank you loads!

Jade

Attachments

Karabiner

TS Contributor