GW shark study- You give advice on the stats and I give advice on swim spots ;)

Clem

Disclaimer: I am fairly new to the stats side of Ecology, I have carried out a bit of field work in my time but have only come over to the analysis side of things in the last little bit. Please forgive me if my questions seem a little basic- I have to say though that before I posted this thread, I have spent a few weeks looking at this site and others and trying to get my head around a few issues I have. I have taught myself the basics of JMP and tried out the tests myself P and think I am getting the hang of the program. However I think I need advice on whether I am on the right track or have headed off on a tangent (which I often do). Thanks for your time, feel free to point out any gaps in my explanation of the study.

Shark study: This was a quick pilot study to see if the methodology used worked. The aim of the study was to see if there is a difference in shark abundances or frequency between different depths (eg shallow versus deep). I am interested in doing some statistical analyses on the results as they are not going to be used for anything otherwise.

Experimental design
-Two depths 5m and 30m
-At each depth three different locations
-At each location 5 replicates

What was measured:
Relative Abundance

we had a camera and a bait at each replicate (replicates were separated by 1km), each camera filmed for 1hr and a measure of relative abundance taken called MaxN. MaxN is the maximum number of one species seen in any one frame during the one hour. We do this because otherwise you can't be sure you aren't counting the same shark twice when they swim in and out of the field of view).

These are the results
Depth /Location/MaxN
5 Boo 4
5 Boo 2
5 Boo 6
5 Boo 0
5 Boo 8
5 Cal 3
5 Cal 0
5 Cal 0
5 Cal 1
5 Cal 3
5 Har 4
5 Har 0
5 Har 1
5 Har 0
5 Har 36
30 Bow 0
30 Bow 0
30 Bow 0
30 Bow 0
30 Bow 0
30 Grop 14
30 Grop 15
30 Grop 0
30 Grop 0
30 Grop 3
30 Hy 0
30 Hy 0
30 Hy 0
30 Hy 12