How to analyze UNPAIRED data for correlation/regression

Good morning.

I am a doctoral student struggling with the analysis of one of my research questions. I have 2 samples. One sample responded to one instrument while the other responded to a completely different instrument. I'm trying to figure out whether the responses of one sample is related to the responses of the other sample.

Since neither sample completed the other's instrument, the data are unpaired. Initial analysis yielded warning messages in SPSS. A friend suggested I pair the data with zeros which at least provided some output and no error or warming messages! I've worked with the statistics department at my university and my dissertation chair, but the analyses they suggested I perform leave me with very weird results.

Is this analysis even possible? If so, how? I appreciate any guidance as I'd really like to finish this up soon!

Thank you!

carol

Miner

TS Contributor
You cannot perform correlation or regression without paired data. The only thing that you can do with this type of data is to perform a 2-sample t-test (or equivalent) to determine whether there is a statistically significant difference in means. However, any significant differences will not tell you whether the difference was in the instruments or in the samples tested unless you had randomly assigned the samples to the instruments.

Thank you for your response! What about a "dummy" value to pair it with? Would that work?

I've read other research articles that discuss how the attributes of one population affect a different attribute of another one. I don't know where these articles are at this point so I can't refer to them.

Karabiner

TS Contributor
I am a doctoral student struggling with the analysis of one of my research questions.
Could you please tell us the topic of your research, and the exact research question?