Item Response theory In variance

Hi, I am working on Educational assessment item calibration task.

I am new to IRT and I have read 100s of papers still could not wrap around my head with invariance property of IRT and item calibration.
My question is suppose I have response data of 20,000 students on 10 items, now I want to estimate the item difficulty for those items.
To do so I have two options, either I can use CTT to calculate the p values(which is difficulty) or fit an IRT model to estimate the item difficulty.
I tried both the ways and now I am not sure on,

1. How IRT can say that the item difficulty is not item dependent? I took the sub sample of just high scoring students from 20,000 data and re-estimated the IRT parameters and found that item difficulty has been reduced and vise versa for low scoring student sample.
2. Isn't it making IRT sample dependent?
3. If IRT is sample dependent then how CTT is different from IRT

spunky

Doesn't actually exist
1. How IRT can say that the item difficulty is not item dependent? I took the sub sample of just high scoring students from 20,000 data and re-estimated the IRT parameters and found that item difficulty has been reduced and vise versa for low scoring student sample.
Because invariance is a property of the population of items AND the population of examinees/test-takers. Not of any individual sample.

2. Isn't it making IRT sample dependent?
No (see previous answer).

3. If IRT is sample dependent then how CTT is different from IRT
See previous answer.

Because invariance is a property of the population of items AND the population of examinees/test-takers. Not of any individual sample.

Thank you so much for your reply.
If that is the case then CTT theory will also give us invariant difficulty estimate for the population right?
P value of any question/item is the probability of correct response. How can we say that IRT difficulty is invariant but CTT difficulty is sample dependent?

spunky