Looking for feedback on application of chi-square test

I am a cost engineer working in the building construction field. I am seeking some advice/feedback on the use of a chi-square test for assessing how well a cost estimate follows an expected distribution.

Our organization has developed an empirical collection of the distribution of building costs among 14 different building elements for 23 different types of facilities. The 14 elements are various building systems such as foundations, roofing, plumbing, HVAC (heating-ventilating,air conditioning), electrical, etc. The empirical data indicates the percentage of total building construction cost associated with each of the 14 elements that are typical for that particular type of facility. The 23 facility types include warehouses, schools, administrative buildings, health clinics, etc. There is typically a great deal of dispersion in these percentages. For example, an administrative facility has expected percentages ranging from 0.18% for equipment to 19.57% for HVAC.

When we develop a cost estimate, we compare the distribution of costs in the estimate, on a percentage basis, to that of the corresponding type of facility in our collection. That comparison is currently done by plotting the estimate percentages and the expected (empirical) percentages as two series on a bar chart with the data for each being the percentages in each element for each facility. From this graphic information, we make a subjective assessment of how well the distribution of the estimate matches the expected distribution. We carry this out in a spreadsheet.