Need help converting data.frame into a vector of mode list

Good day,

I'm fairly new to R and still trying to get a grasp op its data-types as well as conversion between them.

I need to convert a data frame generated by the RMySql package into a list of objects, so that I can use it in a shiny renderUI definition.

I.e. given I have the following code retrieving data from a mysql database:

Code:
 28   getQuestionsForCenter <- function(centerid){
 29     sqlQuery <- paste("SELECT `idquestions`, `text`, `order`, `type` FROM questions WHERE ficentre = ", centerid)
 30     sqlData <- dbGetQuery(con, sqlQuery)
 31     #dput(margin.table(sqlData,c(1,'text')))
 32     #questions.list <- as.list(as.data.frame(t(sqlData)))
 33     #questions.list <- split(sqlData,rownames(sqlData))
 34     #questions.list <- split(sqlData,colnames(sqlData))
 35     #questions.list <- sqlData[c("idquestions","text")]
 36     #questions.list <- lapply(sqlData, parseSql)
 37     return(questions.list)
 38   }

And the following renderUI function:

Code:
 59   output$questionSelect <- renderUI({
 60     questions <- getQuestionsForCenter(input$center)
 61     selectInput("question", "Choose a question:", questions)
 62   })

Then how can transform the data frame returned by the above query into a list suitable for use in the selectInput() function?

Knowing that the result of the query will be something along these lines:

Code:
+-------------+-------------------------------------------------------+-------+------+
| idquestions | text                                                  | order | type |
+-------------+-------------------------------------------------------+-------+------+
|          12 | Ech hunn d'Erklärungen vum Animateur gutt verstanen.  |     1 | q    |
|          13 | Den Animateur ass op d'Froe vun der Klass agaangen.   |     2 | q    |
|          14 | Den Animateur huet no mir gekuckt                     |     3 | q    |