Negative Binomial Mixed Effects Model

Hi everyone,

This is related to an earlier post. I'm studying repair time (in days) for vehicles which is a discrete count. I'm trying to remember the justification for including random effects? I'm considering repair state and vehicle make as random effects in a model amongst other variables. I imagine that each state and make has there own correlated responses. I have 2.8 million rows and 55 distinct makes. I heard that if the test set does not see a make that is in the training set then it will use the global mean for that observation. This sounds appealing, so I'm drawn towards this random effect idea. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks.

hlsmith

Less is more. Stay pure. Stay poor.
What does the distribution of the outcome look like?

Two random effects? So three total levels? People clustered in makes clustered in States. Please describe the model some more :)

Well, I'm just brainstorming ideas for now. It's definitely a negative binomial distribution. The 99th percentile is 57 days. The 1% has values that extend past 100s of days. So, I needed to "zoom in" to really see this distribution. I'm trying to jog my memory of the use cases for random effects in particular. I'm reading that they don't take up degrees of freedom in the same way as fixed effects. I'm also wary about scenarios where there are unseen levels in the test set. I just hate lumping a variable like vehicle make in an "other" category. There are 50 states and 50+ makes and I always have this argument with myself that I'm using too many dfs. But, this is probably not the case.

hlsmith