New here and completely lost :/

Hello everyone! I’m a newbie here and to be honest in desperation googled “psychology statistics forum” thinking no way I’d find one and low and behold there this site was!

Bit of background:

I’m finishing the last module of my second degree in psychology. I’m hoping to do my doctorate next in clinical psychology. I did both my degrees by correspondence otherwise you could bet I would have been staying after class daily to pester the prof for extra help. I have never been particularly comfortable with statistics, although I try my best and so far have managed to keep an average of around 68-72% for stats. Not brilliant but not failing. However, my uni has never really gone into proper detail on how to run the stats. Sure, we get taught the glossary of all the terms, and how to write a research report, but as far as saying “if you’re doing this type of research then this is the type of stats test you use, and if you do that type of research then you use that type…” we just haven’t been shown.

So fast forward to now, and I have to do a pretty basic (I think) research report where I have to do a short verbal and numerical test that looks at short-term memory on 15 people of two different age groups (i.e. 20-40 and 50-70 year olds).

I then have to compare the average score of both groups to each other to see if age has any impact on short term memory. When I do the tests on people I have to:

--> Note how many words they remembered correctly.
--> Note any false recollections they may have (so any words put down that were never read aloud to them).

For the numerical test I have to:

--> Record the highest digit string each person got. (And then again compare the average from the older group to the younger group.

--> Then I have to compare the averages of both groups to each other to see if age has an impact on short term memory.