only one predictor significant in multiple regression

Hello dear forum,

I have the following problem:

I am using multiple regressions to test the influence of different factors on trust in 4 Actors, one multiple regression per person. To check which variables I include, I calculated bivariate correlations and included what is significant (p < .05). Now I have the problem with the regressions that for 3 out of 4 Actors only one of the variables (always the same one) becomes significant, the others do not. the predictors differ somewhat depending on the Actor, e.g. sex, living state, educational attainment, political orientation. The variable in question is conspiracy mindedness (was recorded with 4 items and then summarized). Since I have little experience here so far, I am not sure how to handle/report this.

I am grateful for any help and hints.
Best regards

Edit: R-squared seems relatively high for social studies with e.g. .302 for the whole model

Last edited:

Karabiner

TS Contributor
I am using multiple regressions to test the influence of different factors on trust in 4 Actors, one multiple regression per person.
Four separate regressions? Why do you think this is necessary?
You could consider one analysis for all these data. But of course,
we do not know the context and the research question and the
research design.
To check which variables I include, I calculated bivariate correlations and included what is significant (p < .05).
Never do this. It distorts the subsequent analyses, since you base
your selection on (doubtful) statistical criteria, of which the regression
analysis does not "know", and can therefore not take it into account.
How many variables were there and how large is your sample size?
Now I have the problem with the regressions that for 3 out of 4 Actors only one of the variables (always the same one) becomes significant, the others do not.
I guess that something like this happening was very probable from the start.