Proper Term for Related Variables in Regression

I am looking for the proper term for a regression/correlation that is artificially inflated due to the two variables being related by a common factor. I'm a biologist trying to determine if birth intervals increase with age. I initially fitted a regression between the birth interval and the age at the end of the birth interval, but I think that approach is biased and artificially introduces a positive relationship. Age at the end of the birth interval is equal to the age at the beginning of the interval plus the birth interval. The birth interval is thus a component of both the dependent and independent variables. Even if there is no relationship between age and birth interval, and birth intervals are random, I would get a positive relationship because animals tend to be older at the end of long birth intervals. If I regress the birth interval on age at the beginning of the birth interval, I can eliminate this bias. I recall there being a term for such a biased regression, but can't remember what it is.

hlsmith

Less is more. Stay pure. Stay poor.
If both variables have a common cause or partial common cause it would be a confounded relation also sometimes referred to as a spurious association. There are many other scenarios, but this might be the one you are looking for.

Welcome to the forum!

hlsmith, thank you for the prompt response. "Spurious" may be the proper term, but in my case the relationship isn't due to correlation with a third unidentified variable, but more of a mathematical artefact. I initially found (and published) a small but significant negative correlation between birth interval and age at the end of the birth interval, indicating reproductive rates slow with age. But I'm now thinking the correlation was an artefact and have gone back and found no correlation between birth interval and age at the beginning of the interval, indicating reproductive rates don't slow with age.