Radio Competition - HELP NEEDED!

Hi, I'm a producer on a big (US) Radio station. I'm developing a new competition, but I need help with the probability...

The game is simple (although some details are changed here for obvious reasons!) We have an amount of cash in a case... all you have to do is tell us how much is in there to win it.

It's definitely over $20,000 and to win you must guess the EXACT amount in dollars and cents (i.e. $36,745.36) so it's seven digits. After each guess we will reveal whether the amount is HIGHER or LOWER.

What's the average amount of guesses it will take for someone to guess the amount?

Once I have the probability I can work out how big we can make the prizes! Your help is MUCH appreciated!

Thanks.

G

Your upper bound is $99,999.99 right? Then between the $20,000 and upper bound you need to specify whether there is an even spread, i.e. is $99,999.99 as likely as $20,000, or does the probability change continuously?

Dason

Ambassador to the humans
It depends on the person's guessing strategy. A person that just starts at the lower bound and increases their guess by a penny until they hit the correct amount will take a lot longer (on average) than somebody that starts in the middle and continues to bisect the possibilities until they get it right. Is there a particular strategy you're interested in?

My reason for asking is that I want the competition to last for three months. Once a prize has been guessed we'll rewrite the cheque for a new amount. If I have a budget of $100k and it's likely to be guessed once a month (approximately 100 guesses per month) then I'll need to split the prize in three. If it's likely to be guessed on average once every 50 guesses then i'll split the prize in 6.

It won't be one person guessing, you'll only get one guess. Then we say whether it's higher or lower and open the phones for the next person to guess, so there would't be a single guessing 'strategy'